Join the Rugby Revolution

Fast-paced on-field action is matched by the swift ten-minute-half format, which means everything’s to play for in every minute of every game.

What's the deal?

  • Ten-a-side
  • Ten minutes per half
  • 12 world class mens teams battle it out in a knockout tournament
  • Interstate exhibition matches featuring some of Australia’s finest female women’s rugby players
  • Check out the gallery to see last year's action
With 300 stars from all the Australian and New Zealand Super sides, plus Pacific heavyweights Fiji, Japan’s Panasonic Wild Knights and French powerhouse Pau taking the field, the quality of international talent on show is unrivalled, aside from the World Cup.
One epic weekend of Rugby Action
World-Class Teams

Tens rugby celebrates all aspects of the game

The ten-a-side format fuses the skill and set pieces of 15s with the speed and agility of sevens.

Combination of top-quality rugby and a party vibe

Whether you’re a die-hard rugby fan, sports lover or you simply enjoy being part of major events, the Tens is for you.

How does it work?
Tournament format

There are set to be some enthralling head-to-heads all the way from the pool stages to the final of the Brisbane Global Rugby Tens. Each one of the 12 world-class teams competing to be crowned champions will start their campaign against fierce competition in the pools.

Rules of the game

The rules of the Brisbane Global Rugby Tens are based on World Rugby’s official rugby tens rules.

Essentially a hybrid of the traditional 15-a-side game and sevens, the objective is to promote free-flowing and fast-paced rugby, while still retaining the physical intensity and enthralling forward and backline play that rugby fans love.

  • 1 Ten players per team on field
  • 2 Eight substitutes, with unlimited interchanges
  • 3 Ten-minute halves; two-minute half-time
  • 4 Knockout matches drawn after regulation are continued into extra time, in multiple five-minute periods
  • 5 All conversion attempts must be drop-kicked
  • 6 Conversions must be taken within 40 seconds of scoring a try
  • 7 Five-player scrums
  • 8 Scoring team kicks off
  • 9 Yellow cards net a three-minute suspension
  • 10 Referees rule on advantage quickly (where one play usually ends advantage)
Sign up to the newsletter

@brisbanetens on Instagram

Follow on Instagram

Based in Canberra, the Brumbies have become a central part of Australia’s rugby landscape since the club’s Super 12 tournament debut in 1996. They have reached five Super Rugby finals in that time, claiming overall victory on two occasions.