All Blacks and Sevens stars join Spencer in Blues for Brisbane Global Tens

All Blacks Akira Ioane and George Moala join former legend Carlos Spencer in the Blues team to contest the Brisbane Global Rugby Tens tournament this Friday and Saturday.

The 22-strong squad, announced today by coach Tana Umaga, also includes teenage talent Caleb Clarke, who returns after playing for the All Blacks Sevens team in the World Cup tournaments in Sydney and Hamilton.

The Blues team will be led by 46-game Super Rugby loose forward-lock, Jimmy Tupou.

There’s plenty of exciting running talent with the likes of brilliant outside backs Melani Nanai and Jordan Trainor, outstanding North Harbour loose forward Murphy Taramai, who joins fellow former All Black Sevens representatives with Antonia Kirikiri and Jonathan Ruru.

The Blues will also unleash some young players for the future in New Zealand Under-20 players Jacob Pierce, Dalton Papalii, Tamati Tua and Orbyn Leger.

“It is a good occasion which the players really enjoyed last year,” said Umaga. “We are going there to enjoy this opportunity and produce some good rugby.

“At the same time it will play a key part in our preparations for the upcoming Super Rugby season and have some goals to achieve while the rest of the squad are preparing at home.

“We are bringing some players who are exciting runners given some space and opportunity. We are keen to play a physical and open running game that will be both effective and also attractive.”

Umaga said the young players, especially, will be able to learn much from having Spencer in the team environment.

“Carlos is an iconic player who is still capable of performing on the field. He is also developing into an excellent coach, so our players have a unique opportunity to learn from him.”

Players not considered for selection because of injury include Otere Black, Michael Collins, Blake Gibson, Matt Moulds, Stephen Perofeta, Kara Pryor, Matt Johnson, James Parsons, Jerome Kaino, Scott Scrafton, Leni Apisai, Josh Goodhue, Dan Kirkpatrick, Sione Mafileo, Isaac Salmon.

The Brisbane Global Rugby Tens is supported by the Queensland Government through Tourism and Events Queensland and Brisbane City Council through Brisbane Marketing.

Blues squad for Brisbane Global Rugby Tens
Caleb Clarke, Kurt Ecklund, Jordan Hyland, Akira Ioane, Antonio Kirikiri, Orbyn Leger, George Moala, Melanai Nanai, Sam Nock, Jordan Olsen, Dalton Papalii, Jacob Pierce, Marcel Renata, Jonathan Ruru, Hoskins Sotutu, Carlos Spencer, Michael Tamoaeita, Murphy Taramai, Tanielu Telea, Jordan Trainor, Tamati Tua, Jimmy Tupou (Captain).
Coaches: Tana Umaga, Steve Jackson.


Brisbane Global Rugby Tens

Dates: Friday 9 and Saturday 10 February, 2018
Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Gates Open: 1:45pm Friday / 12:45pm Saturday 

More News

Blues spin it to win it in Tens final

An all-or-nothing surge from George Moala snatched victory for the Blues in the last minute of the Brisbane Global Rugby Tens final.

Aussies chasing NZ tails on finals day

Just like Super Rugby, the Kiwi teams are setting the pace in Tens rugby.

Veterans hunt young prey in Global Tens pool games

Carlos Spencer was among the winners in the early rounds of the Brisbane Global Rugby Tens

New jersey springs new hope for Kuridrani

Once a Red, Chris Kuridrani wants to follow his brother Nemani Nadolo into the Fijian Test side

Auckland Blues call up great Carlos Spencer as wildcard for Brisbane Tens

Carlos Spencer and the return of the Blues’ wildcard

Australian rugby is like a tortoise, ‘slowly coming out of its shell’ – Honey Badger

Honey Badger’s plan to attract interest to the Rugby Tens

Chiefs backline star Tim Nanai-Williams happy to face the heat in Brisbane again

Tweaks to Tens in second year

Wild Knights to once again represent Japan at Brisbane 10s

Fiji team will be sent to 2018 Brisbane Rugby Tens

Global Tens secure All Blacks star Julian Savea for next season’s revamped tournament

Suncorp Stadium’s Latest Sporting Revolution

Rugby’s new tournament a big hit

Ten reasons the Tens are better than the Sevens

Sign up to the newsletter

@brisbanetens on Instagram

Based in Canberra, the Brumbies have become a central part of Australia’s rugby landscape since the club’s Super 12 tournament debut in 1996. They have reached five Super Rugby finals in that time, claiming overall victory on two occasions.